Lost Territories
after the Versailles Treaty

Verlorenes - doch nicht vergessenes Land.

Ins Herz sollst du dir graben Dies Wort als wie in Stein: 
Was wir verloren haben, Darf nicht verloren sein!

Verlorenes Land.JPG (28515 bytes)
Click to enlarge

This is a very rare illustrative irredentist propaganda piece. It shows how the Allies "stole" ethnic German lands from both Germany and "Deutschösterreich" (German Austria), and delivered those lands and their ethnic German populations into the hands of the foreign enemies. The card is entitled:
Lost - but not forgotten country
Beneath is an emotional , patriotic and ultimately prophetic poem by Paul Warncke:
You must carve in your heart these words, as in stone:
What we have lost, Will be regained!

Detailed, in red, are the lost lands, going from the north clockwise:
Nordschleswig (North Schleswig) comprising roughly the northern third of the Duchy of Schleswig, was ceded to Denmark as a result of the Plebiscite of March 14, 1920, as provided for in Part III, Section XII of the Treaty of Versailles.
Posen and Westpreußen (West Prussia) were ceded outright to the newly created state of Poland by Part II Article 27 and Article 28 and Part III Section IX of the Treaty of Versailles. Danzig and surrounding territory was established as a "Freie Stadt" (Free City) by Part III Section XI of the Treaty of Versailles, to be administered by a High Commissioner to be appointed by the League of Nations. Memelland was ceded to the Principal Allied  and Associated Powers under Part III Section X of the Treaty of Versailles, and the disposition of the territory was left to the discretion of the Allies which undertook occupation and administration. In 1923 Lithuania seized the territory and the League of Nations accepted this annexation.
Ost-Oberschlesien (East Upper Silesia) was ceded to Poland by the Supreme Allied Command in September 1921, despite the fact that in a March 1921 Plebiscite 60% of the Upper Silesian population voted to remain a part of Germany. Germany was allowed to keep the larger but less economically valuable West Upper Silesia. Hultschin, with an area of some 350 square kilometers with a German majority population, was ceded outright to Czechoslovakia by Part III  Section VII  of the Treaty of Versailles. Sudetendeutschland (German Sudetenland) - this extensive territory with its predominant Ethnic German population had been part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. By part III  Section VII Article 82 of the Treaty of Versailles it was provided that the old frontier as it existed on August 3, 1914 between the Austro-Hungarian and German Empires would constitute the frontier between Germany and the newly created state of Czechoslovakia. Thus the "Sudeten" German lands, including pockets in the interior of Bohemia and Moravia, passed outright into the hands of the Czechs.
Burgenland, a very small territory, was ceded to Hungary from Austria as a result of a Plebiscite held in December 1921 as provided for in the Treaty of St. Germain-en-Laye. Untersteiermark (Lower Steiermark) consisted primarily of the homeland of the ethnic Slovenes, and this province was ceded to the new "Serb-Croat-Slovene State" as a result of a Plebiscite in the Klagenfurt area. Deutsch-Südtirol (German South Tyrol) was ceded outright to Italy by terms of the Treaty of St. Germain-en-Laye.
Elsaß (Alsace) and Lotharingen (Lorraine) were restored to French sovereignty as from the date of the Armistice of November 11, 1918 by Part III  Section V  Article 51 of the Treaty of Versailles.  Eupen and Malmedy  "Kreis" (province) was ceded to Belgium by Part III  Section I  Article 34 of the Treaty of Versailles. Provision was made , not for a Plebiscite, but that the inhabitants would register their choice of whether or not to remain a part of Germany and that the results of that poll would be communicated to the League of Nations.

Free counter and web stats Site Map Home